Skip to Content

Mini Menu

Locate a credit union
Toggle Submenu
Find More Info

Daniel K. Tarullo Named FFIEC Chairman

3501 Fairfax Drive, Room B7081a, Arlington, VA 22226-3550 – (703) 516-5588 – FAX (703) 562-6446 –

Press Release

April 1, 2015


For Immediate Release

Daniel K. Tarullo Named FFIEC Chairman
Federal Reserve Board Governor Daniel K. Tarullo on Wednesday became the 22nd chairman of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council.  His two-year term runs from April 1, 2015 through March 31, 2017.  Governor Tarullo succeeds Thomas J. Curry, the comptroller of the currency, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC).  The Council also named Martin J. Gruenberg, chairman, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), as its new vice chairman for the same two-year term.

“I look forward to working with the Council to promote uniform supervisory principles and practices among federal and state banking regulators,” Governor Tarullo said.  “I intend to continue the important initiative on cybersecurity begun by Comptroller Curry during his chairmanship over the past two years.”

Prior to being appointed to the Board in 2009, Governor Tarullo was professor of law at Georgetown University Law Center, where he taught courses in international financial regulation, international law, and banking law.  Before joining the Georgetown Law faculty, Governor Tarullo held several senior positions in the Clinton administration, including serving as a principal on both the National Economic Council and the National Security Council.

Governor Tarullo most recently served as the vice chairman of the Council from April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2015.


The FFIEC was established in March 1979 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms and to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. The Council has six voting members: a Governor of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System designated by the Chairman of the Board, the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Chairman of the Board of the National Credit Union Administration, the Comptroller of the Currency, the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, and the Chairman of the State Liaison Committee. The Council's activities are supported by interagency task forces and by an advisory State Liaison Committee, comprised of five representatives of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.

Media Contacts
CFPB Sam Gilford (202) 435-7673
FDIC Greg Hernandez (202) 898-6984
FRB Susan Stawick (202) 452-2955
NCUA Ben Hardaway (703) 518-6333
OCC Stephanie Collins (202) 649-6870
SLC Catherine Woody (202) 728-5733

National Credit Union Administration

1775 Duke Street
Alexandria, VA - 22314

Office of Public & Congressional Affairs

(703) 518-6330

"Protecting credit unions and the consumers who own them through effective regulation"

9/20/2018 6:00 PM