Credit Union Diversity Standards

The Office of Minority and Women Inclusion is responsible for assessing the diversity policies and practices in federally insured credit unions. On May 26, 2015, the NCUA Board approved the final Interagency Policy Statement Establishing Joint Standards for Assessing the Diversity Policies and Practices of Entities Regulated by the Agencies to provide a framework for credit unions to create and strengthen their diversity policies and practices. The diversity standards focus on five keys areas:

  • Leadership commitment to diversity and inclusion;
  • Employment practices related to diversity and inclusion;
  • Supplier diversity policies and practices;
  • Transparency of diversity and inclusion practices; and
  • Assessing and monitoring diversity and inclusion practices.

Annual Voluntary Credit Union Diversity Self-Assessment

To assist credit unions in implementing the diversity standards, the NCUA created the Annual Voluntary Credit Union Diversity Self-Assessment, approved by the Office of Management and Budget. The self-assessment is a tool for assessing and building diversity and inclusion policies and practices. Instructions for completing the assessment are posted here. Credit unions are encouraged to complete and submit the self-assessment annually.

Visit our Voluntary Credit Union Diversity Self-Assessment site

Last modified on