Navigate Up
Sign In

FFIEC Supports National Cybersecurity Awareness Month

3501 Fairfax Drive, Room B7081a, Arlington, VA 22226-3550 – (703) 516-5588 – FAX (703) 562-6446 –
Press Release October 2, 2013
For Immediate Release

​WASHINGTON — The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) is pleased to support Cybersecurity Awareness Month, which engages public and private sector partners to raise awareness and educate Americans about cybersecurity and increase the resiliency of the Nation and its cyber infrastructure.

“Cybersecurity Awareness Month is an opportunity for financial institutions to take stock of their level of understanding of cyber threats and their ability to respond to potential cyber attacks,”said FFIEC Chairman, Comptroller of the Currency Thomas J. Curry.  “Keeping ourselves and our country safe from cyber attacks is a shared responsibility.

“The FFIEC will continue to coordinate through its Cybersecurity and Critical Infrastructure Working Group with law enforcement, the Department of Homeland Security, and industry to ensure we can help our banks identify vulnerabilities and respond to the increasing risks posed by cyber attacks,” Mr. Curry added.  “Furthermore, we support and encourage industry efforts to share information and test plans through the financial sector’s public-private partnerships, such as the Financial Services Sector Coordinating Council (FSSCC) and the Financial Services Information Sharing and Analysis Center (FS-ISAC).“


The FFIEC was established in March 1979 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms and to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. The Council has six voting members: a Governor of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System designated by the Chairman of the Board, the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Chairman of the Board of the National Credit Union Administration, the Comptroller of the Currency, the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, and the Chairman of the State Liaison Committee. The Council's activities are supported by interagency task forces and by an advisory State Liaison Committee, comprised of five representatives of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.

Media Contacts
CFPB Sam Gilford (202) 435-7673
FDIC Greg Hernandez (202) 898-6984
FRB Susan Stawick (202) 452-2955
NCUA Ben Hardaway (703) 518-6333
OCC Stephanie Collins (202) 649-6870
SLC Catherine Woody (202) 728-5733

National Credit Union Administration

National Credit Union Administration

1775 Duke Street
Alexandria, VA - 22314

Office of Public & Congressional Affairs

(703) 518-6330

"Protecting credit unions and the consumers who own them through effective regulation"